Sunday, September 14, 2008

15 September Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary

The Seven Sorrows (or Dolors) are events in the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary.

  1. The Prophecy of Simeon over the Infant Jesus.(Luke 2:34)
  2. The Flight into Egypt of the Holy Family. (Matthew 2:13)
  3. The Loss of the Child Jesus for Three Days. (Luke 2:43)
  4. The Meeting of Jesus and Mary along the Way of the Cross. (Luke 23:26)
  5. The Crucifixion where Mary stands at the foot of the cross. (John 19:25)
  6. The Descent from the Cross where Mary receives the dead body of Jesus in her arms. (Matthew 27:57)
  7. The Burial of Jesus. (John 19:40)

Posted by Picasa


No comments: